YA Thriller Read For Your Armchair Vacay

YA Thriller Read For Your Armchair Vacay - With Malice by Eileen Cook

Hardcover: 320 pages
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers (June 7, 2016)
Language: English

If you are a fan of Young Adult fiction (or know a young adult who is), pick up a copy of With Malice by Eileen Cook. This is one twisty, turn-y thriller of a read that will excite book lovers. This plot had me wide-eyed with surprise at every turn. I love a book that can do that!

With Malice is a psychological thriller that has been compared to Paula Hawkins’ The Girl On The Train for all the twists that occur in the plot, just when you think you can see where Ms. Cook is going with the story you get punched in the gut as the roller coaster takes a sudden dip and flips the script on you.

Some chapters are straight-up storytelling, while others are excerpts from various interviews, social media posts, newspaper articles or other such items. I found this presentation to be incredibly intriguing and fresh. Not that I was ever in danger of getting bored, at all. As a matter of fact, I was so riveted by the story, the characters and the plot twists that I found the book extremely hard to put down!

I usually do most of my reading in bed before going to sleep. I spent several nights up later than I knew I should so that I could continue reading. You know the feeling, right? “Just ONE more chapter…”

There’s absolutely nothing I like better than a movie or book with an unsettling ending, and I firmly put With Malice in that category. Read it. You will not regret it. At the end of the book, you will be left wanting more as I was. I promise!

Eileen Cook has many publishing credits to her name, including: Unraveling Isobel, Remember, The Fourth Grade Fairy series, and The Almost Truth, among others. I’m very interested in reading more from this young adult author, probably starting with Unraveling Isobel and Remember. Her books have been optioned for film and TV, no small feat! You can read about her other titles HERE.

Aside from being an author, Eileen Cook is also an editor and a writing consultant. If you are an author interested in either if these services you can find more information about requesting them on her website.

With Malice by Eileen Cook


For fans of We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train comes a chilling, addictive psychological thriller about a teenage girl who cannot remember the last six weeks of her life.

Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron’s senior trip to Italy was supposed to be the adventure of a lifetime. And then the accident happened. Waking up in a hospital room, her leg in a cast, stitches in her face, and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be, Jill comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident in her travels abroad. She was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident…wasn’t an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life.

*          *          *          *          *          *          *          *          *          *          *          *

Have you read With Malice or are you interested in reading it? I’m really interested to hear your thoughts about this or any other of her available titles. Share with us!!!

Connect with Eileen Cook: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Connect with HMH Books for Young Readers: Website | Facebook | Twitter

Purchase this title: Publisher | Amazon | Barnes & Noble


© 2016, Beauty Brite. All rights reserved.

About Wendy

SAHM of 2 kids, one adult kid (my 21 yr old daughter) and one middle-age kid (the hubby). Currently interviewing to return to my career working with juveniles in foster care and/or with cases in the district court system after taking time off to raise my own children. Avid animal lover who cares daily for our dogs, cats, fish, rat and chickens. My MIL says I need a cow for fresh milk; I say No Way!!! (LOL) Hobbies include listening to music, reading, writing, blogging (a new passion), watching TV (Homeland and True Detective are new TV-drama obsessions) baking, cooking, crafting, crocheting, and cross-stitching. I'm a laid-back mama who prefers not to micro-manage the lives of my family (though I feel sometimes like they micro-manage mine as my schedule mainly consists of coordinating all of their schedules). But, I love it and wouldn't have it any other way.


  1. Katharine says:

    Sounds very suspenseful and exciting! My kind of book!

  2. I have been wanting to read this book because I have already read some reviews of it. Love the suspense.

Leave a Reply